Day 19 – Cultivating Community

 

The other day I heard someone say that relationship take hard work. This is so true. To often in this fast pace society we tend to devalue friendships, family and community so much. In the hustle of everyday life, how often do we say, “Oh, we need to get together for lunch someday” and that day has yet to come.

As I was growing up, I had cousins that lived about a mile up the street from my parents’ house. I remember being at their house all the time; I would even walking 20 minutes just to go hang out with them. As I got older, those times grew few and few until it became only a holiday thing to stop by for a few minutes. It took effort on my part to keep the relationship strong and growing and as I’m writing this conviction is setting in.

So often we keep people at a distance because we are afraid of truth. We don’t want to hear the truth about ourselves and would rather not allow people close enough to see our flaws. Or we don’t want to ruffle anyone’s feathers, or be looked as the one that is too rough or raw.  Yesterday, I was able to teach our ASB Class (High Schoolers) on “being the Lead Car”. If you’ve ever lead a caravan of cars to any destination, you know that as the Lead Car you are responsible of those that are following or influencing, it’s the same with relationship. We need to be aware of the condition of those we are around and be honest enough to tell them when they are going the wrong way. I recently had a heart to heart conversation with someone very special to me on the direction she is going. She may not have liked hearing what I had to say but I know that she left that conversation knowing just how special she is to me and how her decisions will affect her future.  

Cultivating relationships is going to require a selfless effort on our part. Thinking of others…not easy for a generation and culture that teaches us “to watch out for our own bones because no one else will.” As women of God, we need to be humble and have compassion for others.

Nine Characteristics of biblical fellowship:

  1. We will share our true feelings
  2. Encourage each other
  3. Support each other
  4. Forgive each other
  5. Speak the truth in love
  6. Admit our weaknesses
  7. Respect our differences
  8. Not gossip
  9. Make (Journey) group a priority

DL Moody said, “Faith makes all things possible… love makes all things easy.” Sisters, we need to love each other.

Love,

Veronica Chavira

Purpose Drive Life – Personal Reflections

Point to Ponder: Community requires Commitment.

Verse to Remember: “We understand what love is when we realize that Christ gave his life for us. That means we must give our lives for other believers.” I John 3:16

Question to Consider: How can I help cultivate today the characteristics of real community in my small (Journey) group and my church?

This entry was posted in 2010 BLOGS. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment